Fun And Games Off Duty · guns · Humility

Learning Is Exciting

The other day, the conservation club to which I belong had a rifle shoot, something along the lines of “It’s Sunny And Sixty, And Winter Has Been Long And Grey, So Let’s Get Out And Shoot!”

With a shorter title.

One of the guys had brought along a borescope, and offered to give me a look at my bore.

Oops! Learning time! There was an abundance of collected stuff, along with what appeared to be rust.

My cleaning regimen had, for a couple of years, been to employ a ropelike cleaning product, which featured bristles as well as a fabric cleaning area, running same down my bore several times, and calling it good.

Which, evidently, it very much was NOT! So, after that meet, in which I both sucked berramuch as well as learned other things that need further attention by me, I took my rifle home and gave it a diligently cleaning employing a bore brush, cleaning jag, and MULTIPLE patches, and MULTIPLE rounds of same, repeated the next day, only to find today, Day Three, the above.

The top patch is my first solvent soaked patch of the day. The second is the dry patch, immediately after the first, and the bottom patch is the second solvent soaked patch.

I see that I have my work cut out for me. I also see that the rope-bristle-swab thingie is for field cleaning only, and no longer to be confused with, ya know, real CLEANING of my bore.



3 thoughts on “Learning Is Exciting

  1. So, “if you can see light from the other end” is insufficient?

    I say don’t get it too clean and you can skip wasting ammo on a fouling shot.

    Like

Leave a comment