Duty · Gratitude · Humility · Protect and Serve

SOMETIMES, PEOPLE SIMPLY DO THE RIGHT THING

SOMETIMES, MY FAITH IN HUMANITY IS REINVIGORATED

So, TINS, TDW-Mark II (The Darling Wife-Mark II) and I were returning from her doctor appointment. I, of course, had my Amateur Radio on in my vehicle, and one of the two receivers was tuned to our county’s fire dispatch, which also is EMS dispatch. We heard a run dispatched for a cardiac arrest along Major State Highway, between Our Town and Next Town Over.

Since we had found ourselves past Next Town Over, our journey home called for us to drive past the scene. I anticipated driving past, and getting home for supper.

As it developed, the one patient arrest devolved into a two patient scene, as the spouse of the arrested soul collapsed. Since Next Town Over’s fire department had responded as a rescue, there were plenty of folks on the scene, but a second ambulance was required, and dispatched.

So, There I Was, Driving Along And Living Large, when I observed the lightshow that is a multiple agency emergency response. I slowed, moved into the right lane, and determined that one of the firetrucks was backing out of the driveway, onto Major State Highway.

This particular roadway was two lanes one way, two lanes the other way, and an additional lane, serving as a left turn lane, separating the two. Posted speed is 55 mph (wink, wink, nudge, nudge).

Once I had figured out what was transpiring, I halted my truck, activated my 4 way flashers, and watched to see what the engine was going to do, so as to avoid adding my share of stupid to the equation.

Lo and behold, I observed Every. Other. Vehicle. on that stretch of Major State Highway, going thataway, come to a full stop. Nobody moved, until the firefighter exited the engine, and trotted up the driveway.

Then, in a display of situational awareness associated with clear thinking seldom seen in the wild, EVERYBODY in the left lane, moved over to the center lane, so that the rest of us could move over, providing the engine, and associated personnel, an entire lane in which to maneuver, should they require it.

Why I love small towns, right there.

Leave a comment