Duty · Life in Da City! · Pains in my Fifth Point of Contact

A Long, Long Time Ago..

.TINS (This Is No Shit), TIWFDASL (There I Was, Fighting Disease And Saving Lives)one evening. I was an RN, had not yet gone to midlevel school, and was yet employed with Da City’s EMS. On my days off, I volunteered at a free (read: STD) clinic run by one of the local charities. In those far off times, routine treatment of STDs involved 4.8 million units of WyCillin. WyCillin was a very, very, very thick preparation of penicillin, which was stored under refrigeration. As you might imagine, refrigerating it did NOT improve it’s ability to flow under pressure. For example, the pressure applied by the plunger of a syringe, should one attempt to, oh, let’s say, inject it into a person.

The PROPER way to inject this medication was to secure two syringes containing, each, 2.4 million units of the medication, warm it up (say, in one’s hands), and s-l-o-w-l-y inject it, each syringe being around 2 mls, one each, into each ventral gluteal muscle. Since these are large muscles, the injection of this volume of irritating medication is merely unpleasant, not incapacitating.

In contrast to the PROPER way of injecting this medication, one patient one time, a young gentleman, insisted that I, and I quote, “Just shoot it in, Doc!”

I admonished this soul that I was a nurse, not a physician, and, in any event, he did NOT want me to “just shoot it in”, as the correct injection technique would allow him to avoid considerable unnecessary pain.

He persisted. “Just shoot it in, Doc!”

Some people are simply resistant to instruction, I suppose. I compromised. “Sir, tell you what: you have two of these shots coming. How about I inject the first one the way you demand, and then we can talk about technique for the second?”

His reply? “just shoot it in, Doc! I ain’t gonna change my mind!”

Surprisingly enough, once I had prepped the site, established a “Z-track”, and administered the medicine, as he had insisted, rapidly, well, once I had removed the needle he commenced to hopping around, rubbing the site, and commenting upon The Almighty’s love of his children, sorrow that some of them insisted upon eternal hellfire, and His Son’s journeys among us to bring us the opportunity for Salvation.

Or, something like that.

Once he had settled down enough that he was merely vibrating in place, I asked him, “Did that hurt, some?”

He apparently thought that I had some genius for understatement. Or, something like that.

I suggested that, for his second injection, perhaps he might allow himself to benefit from my years of schooling, thousands of patient care encounters, and years upon years of academic study, and, just this once, administer his penicillin, oh, gosh, THE FREAKING WAY I HAD BEEN TAUGHT, AND PRACTICED FOR LO, THESE MANY YEARS?

He allowed that it was possible that my way might, perhaps, potentially, could result in some observable decrement in his discomfort.

Again, I selected my site (on the other gluteus), again I prepped my site, this time I DELIBERATELY injected the viscous, irritating medication, over, perhaps, 30-45 seconds. This allowed the medication to spread out, rather than remain an irritating ball of painful displacement of his muscle fibers, which would, into the bargain, smooth the way for his body to absorb it, and thereby benefit from Dr. Fleming’s discovery.

I concluded the procedure, and asked the gentleman what his opinion was of the second injection, compared to the first.

“Doc, I should have listened to you! That second shot hardly hurt, but that first one hurt really, really bad!”

Behold! (as Sarah Hoyt would say, on Instapundit) My shocked face!

5 thoughts on “A Long, Long Time Ago..

  1. A rerun, but a delight to read, nonetheless. I’m sure your pt gained respect for your wisdom and your technique.

    Back in the day, the U.S. Navy, in its infinite wisdom, injected recruits with a massive dose of penicillin “just in case”. Heckuva way to learn one is allergic. I’m told my glasses flew a considerable distance after face-planting into the cement floor.

    Like

      1. Thanks for letting me enjoy it twice!
        Say, when are we going to get those needleless supersonic powder injectors that were supposed to hit the market “any day now” about 30 years ago? (I don’t mean those thrice-damned high-pressure injectors that leave a bloody trail if not held motionless). Kinda like clean electricity from fusion reactors.

        Like

  2. My experience with this problem was during a pre-deployment activity while in the Army. We were in a gym where hundreds of soldiers were rotating to various station to make sure all the I’s were dotted and T’s crossed prior to our visit to a very warm and sandy country. One station was set up to provide Gamaglobin to our glutes. A young Officer was in front of me in line and expressed his impatience with the process. As luck would have it, the medic emptied her last vial of said medication with the person just before this young Officer and had to travel to the other side of the gym to fetch another from the refrigerator there. When she returned, she told us she needed to warm a vial prior to providing any injections, but our friend told her he couldn’t wait. At his instance, she gave him the shot. He immediately expressed his regret. Loudly. A much more senior Officer even came over to see who was torturing a cat. Young Officer was told by Senior Officer that he was scaring the soldiers behind him and that should learn from this experience to listen carefully when an expert gives advice. The medic asked if I wanted to wait until the vial was warmed before getting my shot, to which I replied, “I’ve got all day, just take your time.”

    Like

    1. JoMac: Hahaha! Serves junior right.

      In line waiting for some shot via the thrice-damned pneumatic whatsit gun rather than a barbaric metal needle. Observed most recipients walking away dripping blood. Not encouraging. Guy behind me says “Yeah, saw a corpsman get punched out by his patient cuzza moving the gun while shooting. Senior officer came over and got both sides of the story. Senior then said “Corpsman, give me the shot. If you cut me, I’ll slug you myself.” After the nascent doctor picked himself up a second time, he was much more careful.”

      Like

Leave a comment